I know that Lowell Massachusetts on the Merrimack is a good place to catch Carp. But I don't know where on the river to start looking I know of an area where they go to spawn... I'm new to Carp fishing but have been dishing everything from lakes to stellwagon since I was very little. Do Carl eat while they spawn because I know it's very difficult to catch bass while their spawning. Also are there any places that are known to produce carp that I should try... I'm not lookin for your secret spot or anything just a place to start up. What kind of cover do they like or whatever. I got all the stuff for it carp Ross an whatnot and I have an idea of wha to use for bait but what Im really looking for is an idea on where to go because I really havE no clue what to look for when finding a food spot to fish carp. I really want to catch one for my Lithuanian neighbors because they really enjoy when I bring them stripers or blues to eat but they really want a Carl to remind them of their homeland. Thanks a lot in advance. If you can't describe a spot to me. Coordinates are fine if not preceded if you can provide them.

Posted Mon Mar 19, 2012 10:48 pm

I know in Lawrence by the boat ramp i seen guys catch big carp in Lawrence Merrimack you can try there u see them right off the shore Laughing

Posted Tue Mar 20, 2012 5:22 am

Thanks I,m definitely willing to make the drive

Posted Tue Mar 20, 2012 12:34 pm

I have good luck in the pawtucket canal in Lowell.
Caught quite a few 10ish pound carp on bread last september. Bring a big net though, its hard to retrieve fish from the canals.

Posted Thu Mar 29, 2012 11:36 am

thanks alot i tried their the other day and caught 3 fish weighing from 5-10 pounds.

Posted Thu Mar 29, 2012 11:59 am

It's not the Merrimack, but right down the street from the Lowell Connector...

I've fished the Concord River 2-3 times a week from March until Nov, and it's been good for at least one carp a day.