Hey guys, I am new to Massachusetts and was looking to do some large mouth fishing. I live in the south shore and was looking for a few suggestions on ponds near me, I do not own a boat so shore access is required. I understand people don't want their spots blown up, so just PM me with any suggestions. Thanks in advanced

Posted Fri Jul 07, 2017 1:36 pm

What town is home base?

Posted Fri Jul 07, 2017 4:03 pm

weehooker

What town is home base?

I'm in Hanover

Posted Fri Jul 07, 2017 4:06 pm

Sorry, I know nothing at all of of that area. Hopefully somebody here PM's you a hint or two.
That said, by looking at a map, it looks like there are allot of small ponds /lakes just to your south. A search of google maps and the MA fish and wildlife web sight should turn up something.
If you have the ability, a craigslist canoe /kayak will open up a whole new world for you. The problem I find in most of Eastern MA is that the bottoms are too mucky for wading and the shorelines often overgrown.
Still, all it takes is one nice spot and your good to go.

Posted Fri Jul 07, 2017 4:55 pm

weehooker

Sorry, I know nothing at all of of that area. Hopefully somebody here PM's you a hint or two.
That said, by looking at a map, it looks like there are allot of small ponds /lakes just to your south. A search of google maps and the MA fish and wildlife web sight should turn up something.
If you have the ability, a craigslist canoe /kayak will open up a whole new world for you. The problem I find in most of Eastern MA is that the bottoms are too mucky for wading and the shorelines often overgrown.
Still, all it takes is one nice spot and your good to go.

Thanks for the suggestion. I actually tried that and found a few ponds to get but nothing of any quality. I'll take any suggestions, I'm okay with a bit of drive!

Posted Fri Jul 14, 2017 4:11 pm

Get some waders. Opens up plenty of opportunities. If you don't mind driving a little, most ponds in Plymouth are wadeable.