Hi All. I live in wilmington trying to get back into fishing and appreciate any leads or anyone who's willing to have fellow join them sometime.
I have a kayak that I use( a spare as well if anyone is interested in joining. )

I've fished field pond in Wilmington 2x .. but other than using just a spinner bait and fake frog just some small 1.5 lbers.

I was thinking of trying martins pond. I'm not too particular of what i fish for but smallies and LM are nice but targeting pike and walleyes would be fun but I have little knowledge.

I was going to try fosters pond this wknd.

Posted Fri Aug 02, 2013 2:56 pm

welcome to the site, Im sure that the members form the north shore can help you out with some lakes and ponds around your area. MAff also has kyack tourneys. a good way to get togather and meet some of the members

Posted Fri Aug 02, 2013 3:19 pm

Welcome ! Come join us in our up coming tourney! The sign up thread is up on the page if your interested

Posted Fri Aug 02, 2013 4:04 pm

would love to try a tourney. i'm a total beginner, however .. that tourney is a bit away for me.....

Posted Mon Aug 05, 2013 8:34 am

It's alright MAFF is a good place to learn

Posted Mon Aug 05, 2013 9:56 am

Martins Pond is shallow and overgrown with vegetation at this time of year. There are no Pike in there, but you can pull a decent LMB out of there. Since you stated you're using a canoe, if you carry or go under the bridge (heavily used) on Burroughs Road and go up the outlet (Skug River?) a little bit, you're sure to get a couple extra fish.

Fosters Pond has some great fish, but is now heavily pressured (arguably due to this site).

Don't even bother with anything in Harold Parker, it's been way over pressured for decades, lots of dinks.

For a chance at large fish, and an occasional Northern Pike, head up Rt. 125 to Lake Cochichewick, not pressured, no motors allowed.

Posted Mon Aug 05, 2013 12:35 pm