I'm looking for a nice rod and reel setup for fresh water. I'm not a pro at choosing for a nice setup but anything that could handle a 7lb and up largemouth bass even though I'll probably not catch one that big. Thanks.

Posted Wed Feb 27, 2013 11:18 pm

depending on how much your looking to spend i would look into shimano reels you would be happy with anything your willing to buy and st croix rods are great as well!!!

Posted Thu Feb 28, 2013 12:19 am

bravo on the username, hahahaha

I just bought a revo s40 with the new bass pro bionic blade micro guide 7' med rod. great setup and it ran about $180.

or you could buy a combo off the rack for about $99

it depends on what your really looking for. if you want to meet up down at bass pro i'll give you the ins and outs on selection, i'm there quite often.

Posted Thu Feb 28, 2013 7:28 am

Thanks for the recommendation and help but my budget is $200 max and I'm going to dicks sporting goods tomorrow in Nashua,NH and see what they have.

Posted Thu Feb 28, 2013 9:18 am

I would look in to the Abu Garcia vendetta then it's a cheaper rod but it's really good for the money

Posted Thu Feb 28, 2013 9:29 am

basshunter93

I would look in to the Abu Garcia vendetta then it's a cheaper rod but it's really good for the money

Do you have the Vendetta? If so what do you think? There is a new one out and I was thinking of picking it up at BPS and doing the Rod Trade in.

There is also the Johnny Morris Rod on Sale and it seems like a good deal with the trade in. Anyone have insight on this rod?

Are you looking for a Baitcaster of Spinning reel?

You might want to consider looking into purchasing from somewhere like TackleWarehouse. A bigger selection than dicks and tons of reviews you can look at.

Posted Thu Feb 28, 2013 9:41 am