Hello Thanks in advance for any help. I am setting my 14' grumman side console up for downrigger trolling at the Quabbin. I have fished the Quabbin and caught fish, but this is my first try with downriggers.
Any suggestions with equipment and lure selection would be greatly appreciated! I don't even know what size weight to buy!!!!

Posted Fri Jul 19, 2013 3:33 pm

have no idea on weights or down riggers, I've been trying to figure it out myself. when you get it all set and working let me know too! Love the Quabbin I just don't know much about it yet

Posted Sat Jul 20, 2013 2:47 pm

Generally, the heavier the weight the better when it comes to down rigger balls. It would also depend on the type down rigger you have. I prefer a 10-12 pound weight, as long as your down rigger can handle it. Some of the smaller ones can't handle that much weight. A heavier weight gives you less 'blowback' which means it hangs straighter down. This helps to accurately gauge how deep your lure actually is. For example, if you have a lighter weight your counter may say you are 90 feet deep when actually your lure may only be at 70. There are a lot of variables involved such as current, speed, etc. you will learn by experience.