Hello to all
I just joined this site basically for trout! I buy my fishing license every year since I was 20 but trout are toughest for me to catch. I catch largemouth bass all the time with 8lb test but tried that for trout and not even a bite! I have heard from my buddies that 2-4lb is good depending on experience. I use powerbait but is it even possible to catch em with 8lb? I want some dinner so a few tips would be great.

Posted Tue Apr 30, 2013 7:04 pm

ampedtofish

Hello to all
I just joined this site basically for trout! I buy my fishing license every year since I was 20 but trout are toughest for me to catch. I catch largemouth bass all the time with 8lb test but tried that for trout and not even a bite! I have heard from my buddies that 2-4lb is good depending on experience. I use powerbait but is it even possible to catch em with 8lb? I want some dinner so a few tips would be great.

im no trout expert but from what ive fished and have seen others fish i would say your 8lb should be fine just tie on a lighter leader, typical example of a trout rig would be say your 8lb main line with a 1/2 or 3/8 oz egg sinker and a bead to a small swivel,from the swivel to hook tie on a fluorocarbon leader of say maybe 4 to 6 lb test roughly 2 to 3 feet long then your hook and powerbait. so basically your 8 lb should be fine on your spool just tie on a lighter leader to not freak out spooky fish. best of luck!

Posted Tue Apr 30, 2013 7:17 pm

I agree with you, trout is harder to catch for most of people. trout fishing is easy when it comes to me. I used meal worm on bobber, nightclawer on sinker, small spoons/inline spinner for them. My secret weapon so far was wooly bugger on bobber. caught over 150 trouts so far in this month.

Posted Tue Apr 30, 2013 8:10 pm