Anyone with a good amount of topwater expeirence can help here. I'm looking for what rod action ( light,medium,heavy etc) works best for the technique. Also any tips or tricks at all would be appreciated. Tryind to set up a topwater exlusie rod and reel. Favorite lures etc would be great. Thanks.

Posted Thu May 28, 2009 5:55 pm

I cant help you with the rod my guess is that you wouldnt want to go heavy but as fas as line ive read quite a bit of articles that say the braid is the best for topwater because it floats. Got to be honest iI have about 40 topwater lures that were given to me an i hardly use them an I should!!!

Posted Thu May 28, 2009 6:03 pm

I'm no expert on rods, but the topwater lure in your picture there is one of my favorites. Quite frankly, I think for topwater plugs, like jitterbugs or poppers and such, your ears matter much more than your rod. I love to fish the darkest of nights, practically blind out in the kayak, and just listen to my jitterbug blup..blup..blup..blup.......splish-splish...[pause].....blup..blup..blup..blup.... etc...

Nothing like that out of nowhere after-midnight slamming strike on the jitterbug to get your heart pumping! (go with black jitterbugs in the dark for best contrast).

For that kind of topwater, you don't need the sensitivity of the rod so much, because you can hear, and during daylight hours, see what's going on. I like to focus more on my own senses outside of equipment with something I can see or at least hear.

Hope that helps...

Posted Fri May 29, 2009 10:41 pm

Thanks, I absolutely love top water and the jitterbug continues to climb up my list of favofites. I have been out fishing early enough that it is still dark but haven't been out late night fishing. I can't wait to try it. Thanks for the info.

Posted Mon Jun 01, 2009 3:23 pm