i made a mix of flour corn starch bread water bacon bites (things that go on salad) and some dog food. do u guys think this is going to work do u have any suggesttions, i am also new to carp fishing do u now of any places near framingham that have carp, i have heard that there are some huge carp in the cambridge resivoir.

Posted Wed Jul 27, 2011 10:47 pm

Hi Marc,
yes sounds ok, but corn Meal not starch. your close to me, i'm in Natick.
i fish the Charles a mile above and below South Natick Dam. Nice Carp there.
there are also some decent Carp and probably your best spot would be the Sudbury river and its very close to you. at the bridge on Rte 20 Framingham. go down the boat launch, there is parking there and fish that side, Or what i would recommend is park, and cross the ROAD so your on the other side of the bridge, i have fished there the past three saturday mornings and caught every time.
you need one more VERY important ingredient in your groundbait.... canned whole kernel CORN!! Sudbury river is a must for using corn.
only place near us where there are Carp and Corn is not permitted is Dug Pond as it is stocked yearly with trout.
My personal groundbait mixture is...
Plain Breadcrumbs, corn meal, of course whole kernel Corn, molasses and water to bind into a nice explosive scent ball.
Also another place for Big Carp including Mirror Carp (twice the fight!) would be Dudley Pond, Wayland off 27.
happy huntin!
need any more ideas, suggestions or sdvice let me know

ALL From the Sudbury River in one morning... 2 1/2 hours actually!

Posted Thu Jul 28, 2011 12:55 am

thanks i actualy live right near simpson park witch is part of the sudbury river and i frogot to add i also put some wet cat food just to add some sent thaanks im gunna add corn before i go

Posted Thu Jul 28, 2011 1:12 am

Corn is legal everywhere in Massachusetts..trout water or not.