I'm new to fishing. Just started back in May. I've watch alot of fishin shows. They all rave about plastics & alot of senkos. But I haven't caught anything with any plastic. Bought some senkos last week thru some lily pads but nothing? Anybody got any tips? Go Fish

Posted Sun Sep 27, 2009 8:47 pm

yes be patient and count to three, lol

you just have to experiment and throw it into different situations. like you said over some pads and let it fall off the edge, just play around with some different techniques and you will land em.

Posted Sun Sep 27, 2009 8:51 pm

the more you try to work it the less effective it will be. Just let it fall and watch your line close.

Often times bass will suck them in and just sit there, other times they will swim away towards your slack line. The key is being very aware of your line.

I cant count the times i've thrown a senko at one spot and then when you start reeling in your line you notice its 20 feet away from where you threw it. Its usualy closer to you than he spot you casted. When that happens get ready to set the hook.

I find a floating line helps to detect the initial bite. I like to use fireline when fishing senkos for that reason.

Posted Sun Sep 27, 2009 9:01 pm

OK sound good. How long do you wait to reel in and recast. Is texas rig or wacky better way to go.

Thanks Guys!

Posted Sun Sep 27, 2009 9:11 pm

I prefer wacky rigged. Waiting depends on the depth of the water obviously, make sure it hits bottem. I usualy wait at least 3 seconds.

The bite is slow this time of the year anyway, practice next season on a hot day fishing cover. A dead dog can catch bass with senkos, just let it do its thing on its own and dont mess around with it too much.

you can also try whacky rigging a senko and keeping a tight line on top of the water, bounce your rod tip up and down and reel slowly. It should almost look like something flapping on the surface.
I have caught huge bass fishing a senko on the surface.