Hey guys,

I am relatively new to carp fishing. I have caught some gorilla carp using sweet corn but it is far from a durable bait. I have also tried oatmeal, chick peas, and bread. What other baits would you recommend? I plan on making dog food boilles (thanks to Erik from blackstonecarp).

Thanks!

Posted Wed Oct 05, 2011 7:50 pm

pretty much everything you listed works well. you can also try out dipping "glugs" like molasses. They also like Garlic, Chilli powder and sweet flavors. My father still insists on Wheaties and beer...

Also, look into packbaits, lots of recipes out there.

edit: what about sweet corn isn't durable? Carp are pretty much the only thing that will touch sweet corn. I think I have more carp on sweet corn than anything else right now, with dogfood boilies being a super close 2nd.[/list]

Posted Wed Oct 05, 2011 9:14 pm

Don't forget dough balls - white bread. Maize is very popular. It's dried corn you buy in a bag at feed stores. It needs to be soaked before use, and holds on the hook better than sweet corn from the can.

Posted Wed Oct 05, 2011 9:52 pm

You can add a piece of yellow rig foam to the end of a hair rig behind a couple of pieces of corn,this will pop the bait up off the bottom which can be helpful at times and will stop the corn pulling off when casting. if you want a bottom bait presentation you can put a piece of maize in place of the foam,the maize is very tough compared to regular corn.
Boilies are my favourite option though,very durable.

Posted Thu Oct 06, 2011 4:45 pm

Yeah boilies are my goto bait because they are selective and durable. Things like sweet corn, bread balls, chick peas, dough balls and such are great but they many fish will eat them from bullhead to sunfish etc and they aren't that durable.