hello
i am new to MA, living in Westborough and i am looking for some help, could somone point me in the right direction , i am looking for rivers/streams/brooks to flyfish in the area,

Posted Sun Mar 06, 2011 10:57 am

So, It depends if you are interesting in wading into rivers, or exploring. The best I think in Ma is either the Swift River in Belchertown (Base of the Quabbin) or the Millers river which runs along Rt 2 on the top of the state. However if you are adventerous and enjoy a challenge head to the Watchusett Reservoir and fish the Stillwater River in Princeton. You will love the very slow flow and tight challenges the river can offer. Trout Unlimited has invested some money to remove the beaver dams but this has lead to some very shallow pools, you better walk in stealth. Since moving to Ma myself I have enjoyed lake fishing early in the morning (with wets) and in the evening with dries.

Posted Wed Mar 16, 2011 7:28 pm

The Nississit River in Pepperell has a Fly Fish only section from the NH line to the Prescott St bridge or the Squanacook River in Townsend/Shirley/Groton has some areas if you dont mind a little hike. The water is still a little high right now and they just started stocking this week, I'ld give it another week or two.

Posted Wed Mar 23, 2011 8:39 pm

thanks guys i drove up to the swift for a reccee today great little river plenty of big trout to be seen and even saw a few being caught (i couldn't fish as i had my toddler with me) but will make a trip this weekend

Posted Wed Mar 30, 2011 6:42 pm

If you enter the river on the right side there is a small area to park and an old logging trail to walk. I have seen, quail, turkey, and an occasional deer on the path as I worked my way up to the pool. I have also taken my boys (4, and 6) up there for picnics in the summer. Make sure you have a license as the area is heavily patrolled by the rangers.

Posted Thu Mar 31, 2011 7:32 am