So with full winter upon us (mild as it may be!) I have returned to my shop in full retreat!! Although Im a licensed general contractor, primarily my focus has been architectural millworks, furniture, cabinet making, countertops and general fabrication/design.
Subsequently, I have at my disposal, and in my back yard, a good size shop that houses all my woodworking/millwork/fabrication equipment. Now in the past years been using my fabrication abilities to convert my own, and friends jon boats into the rigs many of you have seen Team Beaver Fever in at the cartoppers.

I have designed and built these to be stable and lightweight, and to retain as much "portability" as possible. The 14' Tracker I run currently weighs in at a paltry 165lbs unloaded with decks on!! So if there is any question if a decked jon qualifies as a topper I'll carry it on the roof of my van to the next topper just to squash the discussion altogether! (Sorry had to throw that in there, might as well kick the dead horse as well as beat it!)
Needless to say, I was approached by a friend with a 1960's, I want to say, 13'8" 34"wide Jon boat. He had picked it up for 175.00 with a run down trailer (total loss...read on) an old Evinrude 2hp (not running), 2 busted up swivel seats, and more pine needles than I can describe. It had sat in the woods on the edge of a pond for probably 5 years since its last voyage.... not pretty to say the least.
After a full cleaning and inspection it appeared to have decent bones and I agreed to give it a "deck" job. Gonna try and do this on a tight budget to see how cheap we can do it just for fun. Figured Id post up the progress as I go, trying to do it between my actual "paying" jobs so bear with me on time!! I'll also try and take as many photos as I can, hope you guys enjoy!!

Phase I: